Arneson scores second Sanders Mod Tour victory, car count record set at Red River

By Mike Spieker

WEST FARGO, N.D. (Aug. 19) – A Sanders Mod Tour and Red River Valley Speedway record 53 Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modifieds were signed in Friday evening for night two of the tour. In a performance that mirrored his effort Thursday night at Norman County Raceway, Austin Arneson took the lead at the midpoint and cruised to the $2,000 win.

John Nord and Myles Tomlinson led the 25-car field to the green flag for the 25-lap main event, with Nord leading the opening lap over Michael Greseth. On lap two, Gresesth, who already has a RRVS feature win to his credit, took the point away before opening up a comfortable lead.

Meanwhile, fifth starting Arneson moved by Nord for second one lap later and set his sights on Greseth. Early on, it appeared as though Greseth was up to the task of keeping Arneson at bay, but as the feature wore on Arneson kept getting faster.

With 11 to go, Arneson reeled in Greseth and they went door to door down the backstretch. Arneson took the lead entering turn three as Greseth tried to counter with a crossover move, but was unsuccessful.

The lone caution of the race flew with 10 to go. On the restart, Arneson pulled away from the pack as Hunter Marriott began to challenge Greseth for second.

Arneson amassed a full straightaway lead in the closing laps and took the checkers with ease for his second consecutive Sanders Mod Tour win.

“It just took good, hard racing. I had a good race going with Mike [Greseth], but it was just fun rac­ing with all of these guys. Patience was the key, running a good line, hitting my marks, and not thinking too hard,” said Arneson.

Greseth edged out Marriott in what was a highly contested battle for the runner-up spot.

“I’m happy with second,” said Greseth. “If you’re on the same straightaway as Arneson you’re doing pretty good. I was hoping that caution wouldn’t have come out so we could have stayed in lapped traffic. Maybe that would have slowed him down a little.”

Tyler Peterson came from eighth to finish fourth as 2015 IMCA Modified national rookie of the year Rob VanMil, came from 10th to round out the top five.

Arneson once again picked up the $250 clean sweep bonus. Dave Shipley was the night’s Out-Pace Racing Products hard charger, advancing from 16th to eighth.

Feature results – 1. Austin Arneson; 2. Michael Greseth; 3. Hunter Marriott; 4. Tyler Peterson, 5. Rob VanMil; 6. John Nord; 7. Cale Arneson; 8. Dave Shipley; 9. Rich Pavlicek; 10. Jason Wolla; 11. Tyler Hall; 12. Michael Johnson; 13. Ryan Mikkelson; 14. Darin Duffy; 15. Hank Berry; 16. Josh Rogotzke; 17. Myles Tomlinson; 18. Jeff Odden; 19. Troy Heupel; 20. Cody Erickson; 21. Bryce Bjerken; 22. Tom Silver; 23. John Corell; 24. Tim Thomas; 25. Josh Eberhardt.