County Fair show takes IMCA Hawkeye Dirt Tour to Dubuque 

DUBUQUE, Iowa – The seventh Hawkeye Dirt Tour event of the season takes touring Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modifieds to Dubuque Speedway for the first time Tuesday night.

The July 26 feature pays $1,200 to win, a minimum of $150 to start and is a qualifying event for the 2017 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.

Spectator admission is free with paid admission ($10 for adults) to the Dubuque County Fair. The grandstand is open all day and pit gates open at 4 p.m. Hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. and racing starts at 7 p.m.

Pit passes are $30.

IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, BMS North Central Region, Allstar Perfor­mance State and special series points, but no local track points will be awarded. Also running are Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods for national and state points only.

Chris Abelson’s runner-up finish in last Thursday’s series feature at Knoxville put him back on top of the tour point standings. Two-time feature winner Joel Rust is second.

More information about the HDT show at Dubuque is available by calling 563 588-1406 and at the website. The event will be broadcast by IMCA.TV.

Both the Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models and the Hawkeye Dirt Tour are at Cedar County Raceway in Tipton for a Tuesday, Aug. 2 twinbill.

Hawkeye Dirt Tour top 20 point standings – 1. Chris Abelson, Sioux City, 203; 2. Joel Rust, Grundy Center, 190; 3. Kelly Shryock, Fertile, 186; 4. Corey Dripps, Reinbeck, 185; 5. Kyle Brown, State Center, 177; 6. Richie Gustin, Gilman, 162; 7. Mark Elliott, Webster City, 125; 8. Brian Irvine, Oelwein, 118; 9. David Brown, Kellogg, 117; 10. Jacob Murray, Hartford, 114; 11. Kurt Kile, Nichols, 98; 12. Tim Ward, Harcourt, 94; 13. Mike Van Genderen, Newton, 91; 14. Todd Shute, Des Moines, 90; 15. Shane DeMey, Denison, 80; 16. Dakota Hayden, Wilton, 78; 17. Troy Cordes, Dunkerton, and Ryan Maitland, Waterloo, both 77; 19. Jeremy Mills, Garner, and Nick Roberts, LaCrosse, Wis., both 76.