Deery Series at Maquoketa next Wednesday, Dubuque reschedules IMCA Late Model show

Deery Brothers Summer Series

MAQUOKETA, Iowa – The second half of the Deery Brothers Summer Series now starts next Wednesday, when the IMCA Late Model tour travels to Maquoketa Speedway for a $2,000 to win show on July 20.

Pit gates and the grandstand both open at 4 p.m. for the ninth of 16 events on the 2016 schedule. Beginning at Maquoketa, Sunoco Race Fuels pays a $200 bonus to the feature winner if they’ve maintained perfect attendance throughout the series; that bonus will roll over to the next event if the winner has not been at every previous event.

Hot laps are at 6 p.m. at Maquoketa with racing to follow. Grandstand admission is $16 for adults, $12 for seniors and students, and kids ages 11 and un­der get in free.

Also on the midweek card are Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods and IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks running for IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, regional and state but not track points.

More information is available by calling 563 219-2478 and at the website.

The Deery Brothers Summer Series event rained out on Sunday has been rescheduled for Tues­day, Aug. 16 at Dubuque Speedway. That main event will also pay $2,000 to win.

Pit gates open at 4:30 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 5:30 p.m. Hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. with racing to follow.

Spectator admission is $18 for adults, $12 for students ages 13-17 and free for youngsters 12 and under. Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modifieds will chase all applicable points, including local track, at Dubuque.

More information is available by calling 563 744-3620 and at the website.

A minimum of $300 will be paid to start both main events and pit passes are $30 each night.

Seven-time series champion Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls has yet to win a feature during the 30th an­nual Deery Series but continues to lead the point standings.

Checks in the following amounts have already been mailed to drivers finishing in the top 10 for the first half of the series: Aikey, $2,500; Tyler Bruening, $1,750; Ryan Dolan, $1,125; Scott Fitzpatrick, $875; Matt Ryan, $750; Joel Callahan, $625; Cayden Carter, $500; Joe Zrostlik, $450; Andy Nezworski, $400; and Darrel DeFrance, $350.

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, 349; 2. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 348; 3. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon, 331; 4. Scott Fitzpatrick, Wheatland, 326; 5. Matt Ryan, Davenport, 316; 6. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, 309; 7. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa, 308; 8. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove, 297; 9. Andy Nezworski, Buffalo, 295; 10. Darrel DeFrance, Mar­shalltown, 293; 11. Richie Gustin, Gilman, 286; 12. Chad Holladay, Muscatine, 285; 13. Tyler Droste, Waterloo, 253; 14. Denny Eckrich, Tiffin, 219; 15. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, 194; 16. Curt Schroeder, Newton, 190; 17. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill., 185; 18. Eric Pollard, Peosta, 157; 19. Ben Seemann, Waterloo, 143; 20. Jason Rauen, Farley, and Jere­miah Hurst, Dubuque, both 141.