Abelson is successful in home track defense as Midwest Madness Tour visits Buena Vista

Chris Abelson topped the Midwest Madness Tour IMCA Modified feature at Buena Vista Raceway. (Photo by Jim Steffens)

ALTA, Iowa (June 30) – A track that’s been very good to Chris Abelson in the past was good to the Sioux City speedster Wednesday night.

Abelson got the best of Anthony Roth for the lead early into the IMCA Modified main event, then led to the finish of the 30-lap Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod Midwest Madness Tour/Kyle Suter Memorial show at Buena Vista Raceway. 

“I’ve raced at Alta a long time. I did have a home track advantage and that goes a long ways,” said Abelson, a seven-time Modified track champion at BVR. “It’s always good to win here – You never want somebody to come beat you at your home track.”

That “somebody” Wednesday night was Californian Cody Laney, who worked his way up from ninth starting to second. A caution with eight laps left bunched the field back up by Abelson was able to stay in front to the checkers.

Roth, Tuesday winner Kyle Brown and Dakota Sproul completed the top five. 

One thousand dollars richer, Abelson was already a Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot candidate. 

A fast-paced IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature saw a frenetic ending, as contact between frontrunners Dallon Murty and David Smith coming to the checkers opened the door for Devin Smith. 

Smith’s $1,000 win made his eligible to qualify for the B & B Chassis All-Star Invitational. Tenth starting Brian Blessington, David Smith, the 16th starting Murty and Damon Richards were next across the stripe. 

Opportunity knocked and Devin Smith answered, winning the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature and $1,000 in the Midwest Madness Tour show at Buena Vista Raceway. (Photo by Jim Steffens)

Rusty Montagne won his second Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod feature of the week, from eighth starting. Tim Rupp went from 18th to second and David Calmer from 20th to third. 

Mike Smith was the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock winner, ahead of Corey Gronewold and Luke Ramsey.  Tuesday winner Drake Bohlmeyer motored from ninth to top the Mach-1 Sport Compact main with Caine Mahlberg and William Michel next.