Who needs notes? Gearhart is first in Thomas County Fair Modified feature

COLBY, Kan. (July 31) – Those copious notes Cody Gearhart had from his one previous visit to Colby didn’t apply when he returned to Thomas County Speedway for Friday’s fair special.

It didn’t matter.

Gearhart led the last 21 of 25 circuits in winning the Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified main event. The $1,000 victory was accompanied by a spot on the ballot for the 2016 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.

“I won the one time I ran here last season. This was the first time I’ve been back this year,” said Gearhart, now giving serious thought to make more frequent trips to Thomas County. “They’d decreased the banking (this spring) since the last time I was here so the notes I took from last year didn’t apply.”

Taking a more off the cuff approach, Gearhart started fourth in the field of 24 and avoided getting caught up in an early multi-car fracas.

He caught pole starter Chris Heim four laps in and led to the checkers.

“I tried some off the wall setup stuff and didn’t know what to expect. I wasn’t even sure it would work,” Gearhart admitted. “But I was able to run up higher than everybody else and did all my passing up there.”

Brady Coen was runner-up. Heim, Dylan Sherfick and Nate Moore finished third through fifth, respectively.

Jeff Tubbs topped the $750 to win IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature ahead of Jason Rogers and Nick Tubbs.

Blaine Walt, Dustin Daniels and Clay Money ran 1-2-3 in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod feature. Kyle Pfeifer led Brady Bencken and Tyrel Smith across the stripe in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock main event.

Those two races both paid $500 to win. 

Feature Results

Modifieds – 1. Cody Gearhart; 2. Brady Coen; 3. Chris Heim; 4. Dylan Sherfick; 5. Nate Moore; 6. Jeremy Frenier; 7. Darrick Klima; 8. Dusty Springer; 9. Tanner Black; 10. David Murray Jr.; 11. Jeremy Zorn; 12. Jesse Taylor; 13. Ronnie Hill; 14. Andy Granzella; 15. Jason Haug; 16. Don Geist; 17. Wheat Lippelman; 18. Todd Schwarz; 19. Eddie Belec; 20. John Fabrizius; 21. Troy Plummer; 22. Kyle Rohleder; 23. Clay Sellard; 24. Tim Watts.

Stock Cars – 1. Jeff Tubbs; 2. Jason Rogers; 3. Nick Tubbs; 4. Kyle Clough; 5. B.J. Wagoner; 6. Kevin Wagoner; 7. Jason Davis; 8. Kyle Werkmeister; 9. Wheat Lippelman; 10. Bruce Plumisto; 11. Justin Lewis; 12. Robert Rutherford; 13. Clinton Hockersmith; 14. Lloyd Meeske; 15. Eric Kinderknecht; 16. Mike Giesenhagen; 17. Jason McIntyre.

Northern SportMods – 1. Blaine Walt; 2. Dustin Daniels; 3. Clay Money; 4. Ryan Wark; 5. Tyler Watts; 6. Ryan Stevenson; 7. Gage Coen; 8. Don Strecker; 9. Brandon Clough.

Hobby Stocks – 1. Kyle Pfeifer; 2. Brady Bencken; 3. Tyrel Smith; 4. Eric Ross; 5. Colton Pfeifer; 6. Cody Graham; 7. Colin Heim; 8. Jake Eicher; 9. Irvin Earl; 10. Tanner Clough; 11. Lyle Russell; 12. Bryan Guyer; 13. Jake Blackhart; 14. Cody Williams; 15. Curt Kennedy.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply