Beaumont busts through at Salina

By Justin Sly

SALINA, Kan. (Sept. 13) – It took 13 months but Pete Beaumont found his way back to victory lane at Salina Speedway.
Friday night’s IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature laurels went to the driver of the no. 88B out of Concordia.
Neil Normandin commanded the field from the pole position for 13 circuits. From the fourth row, Beaumont charged to the front early and executed the winning pass with just two laps remaining. Aaron McBride rallied from the back of the pack and placed third. Point leader Mike Traskowsky had tire issues in the “A.”

However, the Woodbine racer still has a comfortable margin over McBride in the standings.
The turnaround time for Rodger Peck’s return to victory lane was much shorter.

The Minneapolis veteran piloted his IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modified to the checkers for a second consecutive time in regularly scheduled events.

In a fantastic 20 laps of action, Shannon Johnson, Corey Lagroon and Peck battled for the top spot. The tacky and fast oval gave all three racers multiple lanes and opportunities to gain an advantage.

Peck was the first to get by Johnson, but Lagroon followed suit. The two friends dueled to the finish, battling corner-to-corner, without laying a wheel on one another. Johnson retained third, while Mike Petersilie came home in fourth.
After passing tech, Rodger commented that Lagroon “just wouldn’t go away.” He commended the younger Salinan for his skill, integrity and loyalty to the track. “Salina Speedway’s lucky to have him.”

In the make-up Modified event from Aug. 2, Falun’s Brian Knoell had the right stuff. Bolting from inside the third row, the no. B6 machine dominated the race for his second win of the season. Lagroon, Peck, and newcomer Robbie Simmons completed the top quartet.

The Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods almost had a new face to grace the winner’s circle. Concordia’s Brandon Belvill, looking for his first win, rocketed off of the front row and looked to be on his way.

But a late caution period gave three-time winner Kurtis Pihl and nine-timer Tyler Frye a shot at the top. On the restart, Pihl ducked low and the top two made contact exiting turn two. That was all it took for Frye to get his no. 55 the run down the backstretch and into the lead. Belvill would continue to fall back, eventually to fifth, allowing Jesse Levin and Tyler Sutton to get by.

Winner of the late model feature was Darrick Klima. Justin Kniderknecht paced the mod lites.

The Ryan White Memorial Cruiser event will be held Friday, Sept. 20. The two-man machines will be racing for a $1,000 top prize. Also on the card are the street stocks, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks, Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods and the IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modifieds.

Race time is 8 p.m.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply