Gaylord finds glory at Dacotah, Zevenbergen wins 5th

MANDAN, N.D. (July 15) – When Tripp Gaylord drew the pole position for the IMCA Modified “A” feature on the Moritz Sport & Marine Dakota Classic Tour presented by Bismarck Motor Company at Dacotah Speedway, the real test began.

A week with many frustrations for the Colorado racer finished out with a feeling of euphoria. Gaylord did double duty in the Modified and Stock Car all week long until Dacotah Speedway, handing the reins over to brother Ryan in order to focus on the Modified. He had made every feature in both classes until that point.

Gaylord was a rocket from the drop of the green flag in Mandan, leading by over three seconds at one point and maneuvering lapped traffic to grab the $2,400 win.

Already on the Fast Shafts Al-Star Invitational ballot, Gaylord was followed across the stripe by Jake O’Neil, Robert Hellebust, Shawn Strand and Alex Stanford. Consistent Austin Arneson captured the tour championship.

Elijah Zevenbergen is the best accomplished IMCA Sunoco Stock Car driver the tour has seen, winning for the fifth time in six 2020 starts to cap a sixth career crown.

Zevenbergen chased Austin Daae before taking the lead at midway. Eric Mahlik and Dalton Flory were next across the stripe.

Feature Results

Modifieds – 1. Tripp Gaylord; 2. Jake O’Neil; 3. Robert Hellebust; 4. Shawn Strand; 5. Alex Stanford; 6. Casey Arneson; 7. Austin Arneson; 8. Eddie Belec; 9. Ricky Thornton Jr.; 10. Casey Skyberg; 11. Tanner Black; 12. Spencer Wilson; 13. Grey Ferrando; 14. Jacob Bleess; 15. Travis Hagen; 16. Matt Aukland; 17. Jason Wolla; 18. Marlyn Seidler; 19. Collen Winebarger; 20. Brad Hartigan; 21. Quentin Kinzley; 22. Justin O’Brien; 23. Jesse Skalicky; 24. Ricky Alvarado; 25. Billy Kendall; 26. Shane DeVolder; 27. Zachary Madrid; 28. John Corell; 29. Mark Dahl; 30. Jeremy Keller.

Stock Cars – 1. Elijah Zevenbergen; 2. Eric Mahlik; 3. Dalton Flory; 4. Travis Ulmer; 5. Adam Goff; 6. Brennan Borg; 7. Angel Munoz; 8. Joe Flory; 9. Keith Mattox; 10. Kelly Hoerner; 11. Scott Gartner; 12. Mike Swallers; 13. Cody St. Croix; 14. Jason Berg; 15. Chanse Hollatz; 16. Austin Daae; 17. Ryan Gaylord; 18. Jake Brown; 19. Joe Schrodt.