Shute dominates Ron Little Memorial on record night at Stuart

Todd Shute dominated in winning the IMCA Modified main event at Stuart Speedway’s Ron Little Memorial. (Photo by Jim Zimmerline)

By Josh Reynolds

STUART, Iowa (July 2) – Todd Shute was in command from start to finish, during a record setting Ron Little Memorial at Stuart Speedway.

Shute led all 35 laps of the IMCA Modified feature, working through lapped traffic before a late restart. He held off Cayden Carter in the final circuits for the $2,055 payday.

Tom Berry Jr., Jeff Aikey and Nick Roberts completed the top five.

Shute and Cory Sauerman were up front for the start of the 21st annual event. Shute took com­mand early with Roberts and Ethan Braaksma in tow, then dominated through lapped traffic until a caution brought the field to a halt with six laps to go. 

Carter and Aikey traded sliders but it was Shute leading all the way to the finish to take the win. Tim Ward started last in the field of 24 and finished sixth.

Shute, winner of the Fever Heat 100 at Stuart last fall, was already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.

A track record 170 cars jampacked the pits at Stuart Speedway for the Ron Little Memorial, which dou­bled as a Midwest Madness Tour event.

Jake Masters regained the lead after midway and beat Dallon Murty to the finish in a 30-lap IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature that ended green, white, checkered. Brandon Cox also had to work his way back to the front in topping the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature.

Brayton Carter was best in the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod main and Kolby Sabin prevailed in the Mach-1 Sport Compact feature.

Feature Results

Modifieds – 1. Todd Shute; 2. Cayden Carter; 3. Tom Berry Jr.; 4. Jeff Aikey; 5. Nick Roberts; 6. Tim Ward 7. Joel Rust; 8. Jacob Murray; 9. Jesse Sobbing; 10. Steven Bowers Jr.; 11. Jake McBirnie; 12. Travis Hatcher; 13. Ethan Braaksma; 14. Kollin Hibdon; 15. Kyle Brown; 16. Grey Ferrando; 17. Josh Gilman; 18. Tony Cox; 19. Ricky Stephan; 20. Jeff James; 21. Thor Anderson; 22. Dylan Thornton; 23. Chase Rudolf; 24. Cory Sauerman.

Stock Cars – 1. Jake Masters; 2. Dallon Murty; 3. Dusty Van Horn; 4. Elijah Zevenbergen; 5. Da­mon Murty; 6. Josh Daniels; 7. Brad Derry; 8. Troy Jerovetz; 9. Jeremy Gettler; 10. Jay Schmidt; 11. John Oliver Jr.; 12. Brandon Pruitt; 13. Brock Badger; 14. Mich Ross; 15. Mike Stapleton; 16. Jason Rold; 17. Robert Stofer; 18. Adam Hensel; 19. Brenton Palmer; 20. Buck Schafroth; 21. Mike Goldsberry; 22. Steve Byers; 23. Randy Brands; 24. Luke Lemmens. 

Hobby Stocks – 1. Brandon Cox; 2. Chuck Madden Jr.; 3. Braden Richards; 4. Solomon Ben­nett; 5. Jason Fusselman; 6. Dylan Nelson; 7. Miciah Hidlebaugh; 8. Jason Kohl; 9. Josh Vancan­non; 10. Zach Ankrum; 11. Travis Fenton; 12. Seth Janssen; 13. Wayne Gifford; 14. Rusty Bates; 15. Brandon Long; 16. Kevin Bruck; 17. Matt Wahl; 18. Kristchon Hisel; 19. Dennis Lyons; 20. Matt Tiernan; 21. Austin Pinney; 22. Shane Butler; 23. William Bonnett. 

Northern SportMods – 1. Brayton Carter; 2. Josh Most; 3. Cam Reimers; 4. Cody Thompson; 5. Brian Osantowski; 6. Johnathon Logue; 7. Josh Sink; 8. Colby Fett; 9. Garrett Nelson; 10. Charlie Ste­vens; 11. David Schwartz; 12. Adam Birck; 13. Alec Fett; 14. Logan Anderson; 15. Thomas VanDyke; 16. Bryce Allen; 17. Hunter Longnecker; 18. Shawn Kralik; 19. Ryan Leeman; 20. Tommy Hensley; 21. Blair Simmons; 22. Bryan Morris; 23. Corey Madden; 24. Matt Webb. 

Sport Compacts – 1. Kolby Sabin; 2. Tyler Fiebelkorn; 3. Bryan Vannausdle; 4. Hunter Patrick; 5. Mark Smith; 6. Craig Furstenau; 7. Owen Richards; 8. Nathan Balk; 9. Chris LaFoy; 10. Joe Mas­tin; 11. Robert Surrell; 12. Chris Vannausdle; 13. Cody Pierce; 14. Mitchell Bunch; 15. Bruce Hower; 16. Rusty Gyles.