Bubak wires Belleville field for fourth URSS victory of season

By David Smith, Jr., OKTidbits 

BELLEVILLE, Kan. (July 4) – Jake Bubak took the lead at the start and never looked back to claim the Lucas Oil POWRi United Rebel Sprint Series presented by Mel Hambelton Ford Racing special in Independence Day at the Belleville High Banks Speedway.  

J.D. Johnson and Bubak started on the front row for the 20-lap feature with Bubak quickly taking the lead as the green flag fell. Johnson, Ty Williams, Jake Martens and Zach Blurton were the top five after the first lap was complete.  

Williams and Martens passed Johnson for second and third, respectively, on lap two as Bubak set sail on the rest of the field. Bubak cruises the distance to claim his series-leading fourth fea­ture victory of the season. His victory was worth $1000. 

Williams was a strong second while Martens came home third. Blurton finished fourth while Tyler Drueke rounded out the top five. 

Kaleb Johnson earned the feature’s Keizer Wheels hard charger award as he started 22nd and came home with a 11th-place finish.

Feature results – 1. Jake Bubak; 2. Ty Williams; 3. Jake Martens; 4. Zach Blurton; 5. Tyler Drueke; 6. Jeremy Huish; 7. Toby Chapman; 8. Chad Koch; 9. Stuart Snyder; 10. Trey Gropp; 11. Kaleb Johnson; 12. Jack Potter; 13. Mike Moore; 14. Kyler Johnson; 15. Tracey Hill; 16. Shane Sundquist; 17. Monty Ferriera; 18. Brett Becker; 19. Ken Potter; 20. Aaron Ploussard; 21. Dalton Webb; 22. J.D. Johnson; 23. John Webster.