Deery Series is bound for Boone on Memorial Day

BOONE, Iowa – Still looking for a repeat winner this season, the Deery Brothers Summer Series travels to Boone Speedway for its traditional Memorial Day show next Monday, May 25.

Corey Zeitner, defending champion Justin Kay, Joel Callahan and seven-time IMCA Late Model tour champ Jeff Aikey each have single series wins so far. Andy Nezworski, however, has yet to finish outside the top five and brings the point lead to town.

The main event at Boone pays $3,000 to win and a minimum of $300 to start. Pit gates open at 2 p.m., the grandstand opens at 3 p.m., hot laps are at 4 p.m. and racing starts at 5 p.m.

Grandstand admission is $15 for adults, $7 for students ages 13-17 and free for kids 12 and under when accompanying a paid adult. Pit passes are $30.

Forty-two previous Deery events have been held at Boone, 13 of them on Memorial Day.

Five of Aikey’s series-leading 64 victories have come at Boone, including the 2013 and 2014 IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s main events. Gary Webb is a four-time Super Nationals champion and Ray Guss Jr. counts last year’s Memorial Day checkers among four career Boone Speedway wins of his own.

Completing the holiday program at Boone are IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods and IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks, running for all applicable points.

More information is available from promoter Robert Lawton at 515 987-1220 and at the website.

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Andy Nezworski, Buffalo, 188; 2. Justin Kay, Wheatland, 180; 3. Corey Zeitner, Omaha, Neb., 169; 4. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, 167; 5. Scott Fitzpatrick, Wheatland, 165; 6. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 152; 7. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, 145; 8. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove, 141; 9. John Emerson, Waterloo, 138; 10. Todd Malmstrom, Silvis, Ill., 137; 11. Charlie McKenna, Clear Lake, 134; 12. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, 128; 13. Jeremy Grady, Story City, 120; 14. Brian Harris, Davenport, 118; 15. Matt Ryan, Davenport, 113; 16. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, 107; 17. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon, 101; 18. Curt Martin, Independence, 91; 19. Brunson Behning, Davenport, 88; 20. Jason Rauen, Farley, 86.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply