XSAN Hawkeye Dirt Tour shares July 24 stage at Independence

INDEPENDENCE, Iowa – The XSAN Hawkeye Dirt Tour joins the World of Outlaws Late Mod­els Series on the Thursday, July 24 card at Independence Motor Speedway.

The 30-lap feature for IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modifieds pays $1,000 to win, a minimum of $150 to start and is a qualifying event for the 2015 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.

Five different drivers, point leader Mike Van Genderen of Newton, Tim Ward of Gilbert, Ariz., Andrew Schroeder of Keswick, Jimmy Gustin of Marshalltown and most recently Chris Abelson of Sioux City have prevailed in the five Dirt Tour events held so far this season.

IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, Belleville Motorsports North Central Region, Allstar Performance State and special series points will be awarded at Independence.

Grandstand admission is $30 for adults and free for kids 10 and under when accompanying a paid adult. Pit passes are $35; Modified drivers receive a free pit pass along with their $50 registra­tion fee.

Both the pit gates and the grandstand open at 4 p.m. Hot laps are scheduled for 6:45 p.m. with qualifying to follow.

More information is available from Ryan Clark at 319 361-3795 and at the track website, www.independencemotorspeedway.com.

The first-ever Hawkeye Dirt Tour event was held at Independence on May 19, 2010. Josh Foster of Newton was the winner that evening; Darin Duffy of Urbana won the series race held there last Aug. 5.

XSAN Hawkeye Dirt Tour top 20 point standings – 1. Mike Van Genderen, Newton, 191; 2. Jesse Sobbing, Glenwood, 152; 3. Tim Ward, Gilbert, Ariz., and Jacob Murray, Hartford, both 148; 5. Jeremy Mills, Garner, 146; 6. Richie Gustin, Gilman, and Jeff Joldersma, McClelland, both 140; 8. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa, 134; 9. Jeff Waterman, Quincy, Ill., 122; 10. Mike Jergens, Plover, 120; 11. Ronn Lauritzen, Jesup, 109; 12. Kyle Brown, Kellogg, 104; 13. Luke Wanninger, Minburn, 103; 14. Mark Elliott, Webster City, 102; 15. Levi Nielsen, Mason City, 93; 16. Nick Rob­erts, Des Moines, 91; 17. Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo., 88; 18. Kurt Kile, Nichols, 83; 19. An­drew Schroeder, Keswick, 74; 20. Todd Shute, Des Moines, 73.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply