Race for Deery Series crown decided this weekend at Independence, Davenport

Four abreast parade lap at Davenport Deery race pmINDEPENDENCE, Iowa (Sept. 17) – The Deery Brothers Summer Series championship will be decided when touring IMCA Late Models visit Independence and Davenport this weekend.

Brian Harris takes a 26-point lead over Justin Kay into the Friday, Sept. 20 event at Independence Motor Speedway, while Andy Eckrich is another 22 points behind in third and defending champion Jeff Aikey is another nine points off the pace.
The tour finale is Saturday, Sept. 21 at Davenport Speedway. Both Harris and Kay are armed with provisionals so they’re guaranteed to start both main events, as are Eckrich and Aikey. Both features pay $3,000 to win and a minimum of $300 to start.

One winning streak ended and another began in the July 2 Deery show at Independence. Harris had won a record-tying four straight features before Kay started a string of three straight with his first career tour victory that evening.
Kay’s next checkers came on July 5 at Davenport.

Pit gates and the grandstand open at 5 p.m. at Independence. Hot laps are at 7 p.m. with racing to follow. Winner of a special non-qualifiers’ feature for the Late Models earns $500.

Grandstand admission is $15 for adults $12 for seniors 62 and over and for students ages 11-17. Non-sanctioned Stock Cars are also on the card, vying for $2,000 to win.

More information is available at www.independencemotorspeedway.com or by calling 319 361-3795 or 319 334-9287 on race day.
Davenport opens the pit gates at 4 p.m. and the grandstand at 5 p.m. Hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. and racing starts at 7 p.m.
Admission for spectators is $17 for adults and $16 for seniors and students.

Additional information about that event is posted on the www.davenportspeedway.com site or available by calling 563 652-5302 or 563 326-5338 on race day.

Kids 10 and under get in the grandstand free each night when accompanying a paying adult. Pit passes for both shows are $30.
Independence last hosted two Deery events in a single season in 1993. Two series races, also including the finale, were held at Davenport last year.

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Brian Harris, Davenport, Iowa, 712; 2. Justin Kay, Wheatland, Iowa, 686; 3. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, Iowa, 664; 4. Jeff Aikey, Ce­dar Falls, Iowa, 655; 5. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, Iowa, 635; 6. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill., 576; 7. Nate Beuseling, Silvis, Ill., 553; 8. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, Iowa, 538; 9. Denny Eckrich, Tiffin, Iowa, 528; 10. Dan Shelliam, Hazel Green, Wis., 519; 11. Rob Moss, Iowa City, Iowa, 491; 12. Colby Springsteen, Wapello, Iowa, 368; 13. Spencer Diercks, Davenport, Iowa, 352; 14. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, Iowa, 350; 15. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque, Iowa, 349; 16. Nick Marolf, Moscow, Iowa, 338; 17. Jason Utter, Columbus Junction, Iowa, 330; 18. Ron Klein, Sherrill, Iowa, 322; 19. Tom Goble, Burlington, Iowa, 293; 20. Matt Ryan, Davenport, Iowa, 267.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply