Ruter, Aikey ace Modified qualifiers at Super Nationals

BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 6) – A Modified veteran and a driver who made a name for himself in another division won rescheduled qualifying features Thursday at Boone Speedway.

Ryan Ruter caught Ethan Dotson eight laps in and led to the end of the first IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s qualifier while Jeff Aikey, the winner of a record six Super Nationals championships and a 20-time qualifier for the Late Model main event at Boone, led all but the opening circuit of the 25-lap nightcap.

A game of Rochambeau will determine which of the two starts on the pole in Saturday’s Modified big dance.

Josh Long, Dotson and 27th starting Cody Laney chased Ruter to the checkers. Riley Simmons, Jay Noteboom and Mitchell Hunt were scored behind Aikey. The top four from each qualifier advance to the inside row Saturday.

Ruter was pulling away from the rest of the pack before a lap 16 caution; Long passed Dotson for second following a lap 21 restart.

Aikey was also comfortably in front before a yellow, with eight to go. Simmons slipped past Noteboom on the next circuit.

Noteboom will start his 12th career Saturday night main event, Ruter his seventh and Laney his third. Long, Dotson, Aikey, Simmons and Hunt each are in for the first time.

A dozen states were represented in the first qualifier, with drivers from 11 states and Canada taking the green in the second.

1st qualifying feature – 1. Ryan Ruter, Kanawha; 2. Josh Long, Little Suamico, Wis.; 3. Ethan Dotson, Bakersfield, Calif.; 4. Cody Laney, Torrance, Calif.; 5. Clay Money, Penokee, Kan.; 6. Tyler Frye, Belleville, Kan.; 7. Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo.; 8. Randy Havlik, Ankeny; 9. Justin Kay, Wheatland; 10. Collen Winebarger, Corbett, Ore.; 11. Jon Snyder, Ames; 12. Jason Wolla, Ray, N.D.; 13. Ryan Jenkins, Omaha, Neb.; 14. Brock Bauman, Eureka, Ill.; 15. Randy Foote, Stanton; 16. Tyler Stevens, Searcy, Ark.; 17. Drew Armstrong, Alexander, Ark.; 18. Eric Elliott, Boone; 19. Russ Dickerson, Boone; 20. Josh May, Des Moines; 21. Brian Knoell, Falun, Kan.; 22. Andrew Smith, Rogersville, Mo.; 23. Nick Deal, Harlan; 24. Jesse Richter, Great Bend, Kan.; 25. Joel Bushore, Boone; 26. Tom Berry Jr., New Berg, N.D.; 27. A.J. Ward, Ionia, Mich.; 28. Ryan McDaniel, Olivehurst, Calif.; 29. William Gould, Calera, Okla.;  30. Jim Cole, Sioux City.

2nd qualifying feature – 1. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls; 2. Riley Simmons, Susanville, Calif.; 3. Jay Noteboom, Hinton; 4. Mitchell Hunt, Greenville, Mich.; 5. Troy Foulger, Oakley, Calif.; 6. Kyle Strickler, Troutman, N.C.; 7. Troy Cordes, Dunkerton; 8. Clint Hatlestad, Glencoe, Minn.; 9. David Brown, Kellogg; 10. Chad Clancy, Polo, Mo.; 11. Randy Brown, Chowchilla, Calif.; 12. R.J. Merchant, Sioux City; 13. Corey Lagroon, Salina, Kan.; 14. Todd Shute, Norwalk; 15. Kris Lloyd, Peach Orchard, Ark.; 16. Craig Reetz, Dunlap; 17. John Taylor, Shepherd, Mich.; 18. Kevin Sustaire, Emory, Texas; 19. Jason Hickingbottom, Ogden; 20. Jesse Skalicky, Fargo, N.D.; 21. Jeremy Mills, Garner; 22. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 23. Duane Cleveland, Olivehurst, Calif.; 24. Tim Ward, Chandler, Ariz.; 25. Nicholas Stormzand, Lowell, Mich.; 26. D.J. Shannon, Merced, Calif.; 27. Richie Gustin, Gilman; 28. Jimmy Gustin, Marshalltown; 29. Chris Abelson, Sioux City; 30. Kody Scholpp, Estevan, Sask.